A weekend of baking.

We’re already into the second month of 2016!

I feel like time just keeps getting away from me and it’s not the nicest of feelings. However, this past weekend I found myself with no plans at all (finally) so I decided to do what I love…….bake!

Firstly, I made my favourite Oreo cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.

IMG_6133 (2)

I’ve come to realize I make these three different ways.While I always throw in some crushed Oreo’s into the cream cheese frosting, I will either use a classic butter cupcake base or a chocolate cupcake base. Sometimes I’ll mix some chopped Oreo’s into the batter, mostly with the chocolate cupcake base. But I’ll always put a little surprise on the bottom of the cupcake and that is…………another Oreo!

IMG_6135 (2)

Then I tried my hand at some carrot cake cupcakes. I used a standard carrot cake recipe, split the batter between 12 cupcake holders, halved the cooking time and got these big, fluffy cupcakes!

IMG_6134 (2)

While it looks like I’ve had a little nibble on the sides, I can assure you it’s only because I put too much batter into the holds and they got real big! To the point of reuniting and “never letting go Jack!”

Oh well, you live, you learn!

M xx

Leave a Reply

